Investment Education Zone - Leveraged and inverse products
<<Prev    Next>>

1. Introduction of leveraged and inverse products

Leveraged and inverse products (L&I Products) are derivative products structured as funds. Unlike traditional index tracking exchange traded funds (ETF), L&I Products are often referred to as "daily" products since they aim to deliver a multiple or the opposite of the return of the underlying index on a daily basis only. Leveraged products seek to deliver a daily return equivalent to a multiple of the underlying index return. For example, when an investor buys a two-time leveraged product, and the underlying index moves up by 10% on a given day, the two-time leveraged product should deliver a gain of 20% on that day. While inverse products seek to deliver the opposite of the daily return of the underlying index. For example, when an investor buys a one-time inverse product, and the underlying index moves up by 10% on a given day, the inverse product should deliver a loss of 10% on that day.

2. Major risks

Item Risk
Investment risk The risk investment results of products are the opposite of traditional investment funds. If the product moves in an unfavorable direction, the product you invest in is likely to lose most or all of its value.
Leverage risk The use of leverage will magnify both gains and losses of leveraged products resulting from changes in the underlying index or, where the underlying index is denominated in a currency other than the leveraged product's base currency, from fluctuations in exchange rates.
Passive investments risks • The Product is not “actively managed” and therefore the Manager will not have discretion to adapt to market changes when the Index moves in an unfavorable direction to the Product. In such circumstances the Product will also decrease in value.
Tracking error Due to fees, expenses, transaction costs as well as costs of using financial derivatives, liquidity of the market and the investment strategy adopted by the Manager, the correlation between the performance of the Product and the Daily inverse performance of the Index may reduce.
Liquidity risk Rebalancing typically takes place near the end of a trading day (shortly before the close of the underlying market) to minimize tracking difference. The short interval of rebalancing may expose L&I Products more to market volatility and higher liquidity risk.
Long-term holding risk Leveraged and inverse products are not intended for holding longer than the rebalancing interval, typically one day. Daily rebalancing and the compounding effect will make the L&I Product's performance over a period longer than one day deviate in amount and possibly direction from the leveraged/inverse performance of the underlying index over the same period. The deviation becomes more pronounced in a volatile market.

As a result of daily rebalancing, the underlying index's volatility and the effects of compounding of each day's return over time, it is possible that the leveraged product will lose money over time while the underlying index increases or is flat. Likewise, it is possible that the inverse product will lose money over time while the underlying index decreases or is flat.
Risk of rebalancing activities There is no assurance that L&I Products can rebalance their portfolios on a daily basis to achieve their investment objectives. Market disruption, regulatory restrictions or extreme market volatility may adversely affect the rebalancing activities.
Portfolio turnover risk Daily rebalancing causes a higher levels of portfolio transaction when compared to conventional ETFs, and thus increases brokerage and other transaction costs.
Correlation risk Fees, expenses, transactions cost as well as costs of using financial derivatives may reduce the correlation between the performance of the L&I Product and the leveraged/inverse performance of the underlying index on a daily basis.

References:

Hong Kong Exchanges and Clearing Ltd.
Investor Education Centre
Securities Trading Capture potential gains by taking advantage of our flexible charges along with our fast and stable trading system. LEARN MORE
App Download
Instant trading of stocks after taking an in-depth look at every move of the market
Website Push Notifications
Provide the latest financial news and promotions

Subscribe to keep up to date with CHIEF
Informative contents include:
Latest news, coming seminar, featured articles on wealth management

投资教育专区 - 槓杆及反向产品

1. 槓杆及反向产品简介

槓杆及反向产品是一种採用基金结构的衍生产品。有别于传统跟踪指数的交易所买卖基金,槓杆及反向产品通常称为「单日」产品,因为它们的投资目标是提供相等于相关指数特定倍数或相反的单日回报。槓杆产品旨在提供相等于相关指数特定倍数的单日回报,例如投资者买入一隻两倍槓杆产品,当指数于某日上升10%,有关两倍槓杆产品就应提供20%的单日回报。至于反向产品旨在提供相等于与相关指数相反的单日回报,例如投资者买入一隻一倍反向产品,当指数于某日上升10%,有关一倍反向产品就会录得10%的单日亏损。

2. 投资槓杆及反向产品主要涉及的风险

项目 风险
投资风险 产品的风险投资结果与传统投资基金相反。若产品不停向不利方向移动时,您投资的产品很可能丧失其大部分或全部价值。
槓杆风险 在槓杆效应下,当相关指数变动,或者当相关指数的计价货币不同于有关槓杆产品的基准货币,而有关货币的汇价出现波动时,会令槓杆产品的盈利和亏损倍增。
被动式投资风险 产品并不是「以主动方式管理」,因此在指数走势不利于产品的时候,管理人不能酌情对市场变化作出调适,因此,产品向不利方向移动时,并没有採取临时防御措施。在该等情况下,产品的价值也会减少。
追踪误差 由于费用、支出、交易费用以及运用金融衍生工具的费用、市场的流动性及管理人採用的投资策略,产品的表现与指数每日的反向表现之间的相关性可能会降低。
流通量风险 为减低追踪偏离度,槓杆及反向产品一般会在交易日接近完结时才进行重新平衡活动(相关市场收市前的一段短时间)。频繁的重新平衡活动可能使有关槓杆及反向产品更受市场波动影响和面对较高的流通风险。
长线持有的风险 槓杆及反向产品并非为持有超过重新平衡活动的间距,一般为一天而设。在每日重新平衡及複合效应下,有关产品超过一天的表现会从幅度或方向上偏离相关指数同期的槓杆或相反表现。在市况波动时有关偏离会更明显。

随着一段时间受到每日重新平衡活动、相关指数波动,以及複合效应对每日回报的影响,可能会出现相关指数上升或表现平稳,但槓杆产品却录得亏损。同样地亦有可能会出现相关指数下跌或表现平稳,但反向产品却录得亏损。
重新平衡活动的风险 槓杆及反向产品不保证每天都可以重新平衡其投资组合,以实现其投资目标。市场中断、规管限制或市场异常波动可能会对产品的重新平衡活动造成不利影响。
重整组合的风险 相对传统的ETF,每日重新平衡活动会令槓杆及反向产品的投资交易次数较频密,因而增加经纪佣金和其他买卖开支。
关联风险 费用、开支、交易成本及使用衍生工具的成本,可令有关产品的单日表现,与相关指数的单日槓杆/反向表现的关联度下降。

参考资料:

香港交易所
钱家有道
证券交易 弹性灵活收费,配合稳定快捷的交易系统,助您捕捉获利机会 了解更多
APP下载
弹指之间买卖股票,实时紧贴巿场动态。
网站推送通知
为您提供最新财经资讯及推广优惠

订阅致富最新动态
内容丰富,包括:
致富动态,最新讲座信息,精选理财文章